NABJ Honors ESPN’s 30 for 30 series with Annual Best Practices Award


    July 13, 2011 19:37 UTC

    NABJ Honors ESPN’s 30 for 30 series with Annual Best Practices Award

    Film Series Creates Diverse Tapestry of Sports in America over the
    Past 30?Years

    The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) announces that?ESPN’s
    30 for 30 series?
    will receive the organization’s Best Practices
    Award. The honor will be presented at the association’s 36th Annual
    Convention and Career Fair in Philadelphia, PA, the nation’s largest
    annual gathering of minority journalists.

    30 for 30 is a series of documentaries airing on ESPN and its sister
    networks. The series, which premiered in October 2009 and concluded in
    December 2010, chronicles 30 stories from the “ESPN era,” each of which
    detail the issues, trends, people, teams, or events that transformed the
    sports landscape since the sports network was founded in 1979.

    “30 for 30 is indicative of the excellent contributions made by?a
    brilliant and diverse team?working behind the scenes. The NABJ board
    congratulates executive producers John Dahl, Connor Schell, NABJ member
    Keith Clinkscales and the ESPN team for including talented black
    filmmakers who hit an amazing home run,” said NABJ President Kathy Y.

    The films in totality represent something never seen on TV before
    through a team of diverse storytellers.?The series includes the saga of
    how the Allen Iverson trial impacted the Hampton Roads, Virginia,
    community to the personal family story of running back Ricky Williams in
    “Run Ricky Run” and “One Night in Vegas” on the night of a Mike Tyson
    fight and how Tupac Shakur never made it to the after party.
    African-American directors John Singleton and Reggie Rock Bythewood had
    the opportunities to lead some of these stories. Additional contributors
    to the series include Ice Cube, Spike Lee, Morgan Freeman, and Kirk
    Fraser among others.

    “ESPN’s collection of documentaries on these 30 riveting stories from
    over the past 30 years provides quality in-depth reporting to give
    viewers the complete versions of these events that often went untold.
    The series offers a different perspective of these stories that previous
    news accounts could not provide,” said NABJ Treasurer and Sports Task
    Force Chair, Greg Lee. “The series also has the power of time on its
    side, allowing us the ability to reflect on these stories years later.
    It is truly an amazing body of work worthy of our Best Practices honor.”

    The idea for the series began with columnist Bill Simmons, who
    wanted feature filmmakers to recount the sports stories, people, and
    events from the past three decades, which they took a personal interest
    or involvement in, however great or small, and felt hadn’t been fully
    explored. Simmons and his team took special interest in “stories that
    resonated at the time but were eventually forgotten for whatever reason.”

    Directors had creative control over their 30 for 30 episodes. They
    appear in interstitial comments during the broadcast to discuss their
    film and its subject matter, usually appearing before the beginning of
    the film and before the last commercial break.

    NABJ’s National Awards recognize top media organizations and
    professionals for their print, broadcast, and online journalism work in
    2010. Awards will be bestowed to top writers, columnists, producers,
    reporters, photojournalists and editors.

    ESPN will be joined by other top honorees including the Miami Herald’s
    Jacqueline Charles for Journalist of the Year, and NABJ Founder Acel
    Moore for Lifetime Achievement, as well as ESPN’s Claire Smith for the
    organization’s Legacy Award.?NABJ’s 36th Annual Convention and Career
    Fair will take place Aug. 3-7 in Philadelphia, PA. For additional
    information, ticket sales and registration, please visit us at?


    Aprill O. Turner

    Source: National Association of Black Journalists