List of CEOs at IBM over the years

Thomas J. Watson, May 1914-May 1956

Thomas J. Watson, Jr., May 1956-June 1971

T. Vincent Learson, June 1971-January 1973

Frank T. Cary, January 1973-January 1981

John Opel, January 1981-January 1985

John F. Akers, February 1985-April 1993

Louis V. Gerstner, Jr., April 1993-March 2002

Samuel J. Palmisano, March 2002-December 2011

Virginia “Ginni” Rometty, effective January 2012