Gregory Lee Elected as 19th President of National Association of Black Journalists


    Aug. 6, 2011 17:33 UTC

    Gregory Lee Elected as 19th President of National Association of
    Black Journalists

    Errin Haines Elected Vice President of Print, Cindy George Elected

    Student Representative Race Tied, Run-off Election in a Few Weeks

    The National Association of Black Journalists (NABJ) announces that
    Gregory Lee, Jr. has been elected the 19th President of the organization.

    Lee, the Senior Assistant Sports Editor at The Boston Globe and the
    current NABJ Treasurer, won the election with 294 votes, 57% of the
    vote, defeating opponent Deirdre Childress of The Philadelphia Inquirer
    who received 168 votes. Charles Robinson of Maryland Public Television
    received 50 votes.

    Born in New Orleans, LA, Lee is the eldest of three children. The 37
    year-old is the youngest elected president of the 3,400 member
    organization. He has also worked for the The Times-Picayune and The
    Washington Post. During his career in NABJ Lee served for four years as
    the national secretary and has also served an unprecedented four terms
    as chair of the Sports Journalism Task Force.

    The election results were announced at a 7:00 p.m. press conference
    yesterday following the closing of the polls at the Philadelphia
    Convention Center, site of the 2011 NABJ Annual Convention and Career
    Fair. 515 votes were cast by eligible NABJ members in this year’s
    election, conducted online between June 3 and 5 p.m. yesterday.

    “It is both a privilege and an honor to have been elected to lead NABJ
    and I stand ready to continue to serve. There is a lot of work to be
    done,” Lee told a packed room at the Philadelphia Convention Center in
    downtown Philadelphia once the election results were announced, joined
    by his parents and brother. “I’m so very honored and humbled by this
    awesome responsibility that I have with my team for the next two years,”
    said Lee.

    A total of 13 board members were chosen by the membership to lead the
    organization for the next two years. Board members elected in
    uncontested races include Treasurer-elect Keith Reed, Secretary-elect
    Lisa Cox, Region III Director-elect Dedrick Russell, Region IV
    Director-elect AJ Ross, Region VI Director-elect Michelle Fitzhugh-Craig
    and Associate Representative-elect Dawn Angelique Roberts.

    Winning elections in contested races were newly elected Vice President
    of Print Errin Haines of The Associated Press defeating freelance
    reporter Denise Clay 280-209, and newly elected Parliamentarian Cindy
    George of The Houston Chronicle, who defeated Ken Knight of The Tampa
    Tribune by 10 votes, 244-234, with 37 abstentions.

    The race for student representative resulted in a tie between Wesley
    Lowery of Ohio University, and Marissa Evans of Marquette University,
    each receiving 69 votes. The student candidates will have a week-long
    run-off election August 15-22.


    for NABJ
    Aprill O. Turner, 202-649-0719

    Source: National Association of Black Journalists