ELC Foundation Honors Ten Students in National Essay Competition

    ELCThe Executive Leadership Council & The Executive Leadership Foundation are pleased to announce the winners of the “2009 Award for Excellence in Business Commentary National Essay Competition,” who were presented at a recognition dinner on Oct. 8th. African-American undergraduate students from across the nation competed for the scholarship awards that included a total of $30,000 in cash, an internship at a Fortune 500 corporation, and participation in an all expense-paid, week-long Honors Symposium held in New York City and Washington, DC.

    “We are so proud of these young people who represent a new generation of leadership and are poised to take their rightful place in corporate America,” said Carl Brooks, president & CEO of The Executive Leadership Council. “Our dinner theme was ‘A New Era, A New Vision: Empowering the Next Generation’ and these students clearly represent our future.”

    The 2009 Essay Competition theme was “Diverse Leadership: The Wealth of Our Nation.” The students were asked to consider the treacherous economic times in which businesses operate and the possibility diversity initiatives may take a back seat to a corporation’s day-to-day survival and viability. The students were asked to examine this argument and provide their assessment of why diversity cannot be set aside during times of economic uncertainty.

    The 10 student winners of the 2009 National Essay Competition were:
    -? 1st Place? – $7,000 Savannah Greene, Stanford University
    -? 2nd Place? – $6,000 LaTasha Allen, Michigan State University
    -? 3rd Place? – $5,000 James Max Hawes IV, Stanford University
    -? 4th Place? – $4,000 Evan Huggins, American University
    -? 5th Place? – $3,000 Erica Holmes, Howard University
    -? 6th Place? – $1,000 each
    -? Deaweh Benson, Spelman College
    -? Lauren Coleman, Duke University
    -? Darryl Irizarry, Temple University
    -? Akinlabi Adewuyi, Bowie State University
    -? Lemar Griffin, Arizona Western College

    The essay contest, now in its 15th year, was generously supported and underwritten by The Coca-Cola Foundation. Ingrid Saunders Jones, president of The Coca-Cola Foundation and Senior Vice President Global Community Connections, presented the awards.

    Source: PR Newswire