Alabama’s Derrick Henry Wins Heisman Trophy

Derrick Henry


Hand it to Derrick Henry.

Alabama’s bulldozer of a tailback with the super-sized workload won the 81st Heisman Trophy on Saturday night, capping a junior campaign in which he rushed for an SEC-record 1,986 yards — previously held by 1982 Heisman winner Herschel Walker — on 339 carries and scored a conference-record-tying 23 touchdowns.

“I’m just so thankful to have this trophy,” Henry said. “It’s just a blessing and an honor.”

Henry is the first running back to claim the Heisman since 2009, when Crimson Tide running back Mark Ingram became the first Alabama player to win the award. In 2009, Ingram edged runner-up Toby Gerhart — a Stanford running back — by a single percentage point, the narrowest margin of victory in the history of the award. The Heisman went to quarterbacks in the five years that followed.

Read more at ESPN.