The Africa-America Institute Annual Awards Gala


On Monday, September 22, the Africa-America Institute held its annual awards gala at Gotham Hall in NYC. The 2014 honorees were H.E. President Alassane Ouattara, President of the Republic of Cote d?Ivoire and former chair of Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS); Vivienne Yeda Apopo, Director-General of the East African Development Bank (EADB); Professor Thandika Mkandawire, professor and chair of African Development at London School of Economics and Political Science and General Electric Africa.


The honorary co-chairs were the Honorable George Monyemangene, South African Consul General; Ambassador Alice Dear of A.M. Dear & Associates; Somi, A Rwandan Singer & Songwriter; Malaak Compton-Rock of The Angelrock Project; Nuno Santo, Global Marketing Director at Pfizer; award-winning actor Jeffrey Wright; and South African Singer Yvonne Chaka Chaka.


* Photos: Thos Robinson/Getty Images for The Africa-America Institute